Not a Tango, nothing to see here

May 20, 2011

This is my boomstick.

Filed under: gear, guns — antitango @ 2:28 pm

One thing I always thought was interesting was the motorcycle culture in days before today.  Today it seems like the trend is to buy the most expensive one you can.  When motorcycle clubs were far more prevalent, people would work on their bikes every spare chance they had.  They worked in car factories for their money and after paying their bills and putting food on their table, they’d take their $12.40 leftover and dump it in a bin towards their next set of chrome.  2 years later, they had an extremely respectable bike that the fresh meat would look at it and go “Man… that’s love for his machine.”  The OLDER guys would say “Good start.”  In the owner’s heart was the feeling of accomplishment for what he had.  He knew what sweat went into it.  Maybe some sacrifice.  PROBABLY some sacrifice.

This kind of biker led a biker lifestyle.  He breathed motorcycle fumes for air and thrived.  He drank motor oil to quench his thirst.  He cleaned his hands with engine grease.  Not all “bikers” were like that.

(more…)

Irony, thy name is Dimwit

Filed under: 2A, rights — antitango @ 5:51 am

I see Japete posting to twitter about a new thread, so I went and read it.  Keep your friends close, enemies closer and all that.  This really just makes me laugh.  My friends, we have NOTHING to worry about from this lot.  The post was written because she figured out the person is trying to out her as an NRA member playing ‘mole’ under the guise of an anti-gunner.  Emphasis mine.

This one was from someone playing with my mind as he tried to get me, I guess, or others, to think I was a shill for the NRA. It was a ridiculous exchange. Here goes-
“..I’ve come to a conclusion. You’re a shill for the NRA. I refuse to believe that anyone could really well and truly be so unselfaware as to say the things you continuously say. Everything you write comes across like a tea party member’s parody of what an anti-gun activist would act like. I refuse to believe that our opponents could possibly be so utterly, fruitlessly, and aggressively dim. As such, your number is up, and I’m calling you out. You’re nothing more than a shill in the employ of the NRA. The sooner you admit that this is nothing more than a long-running stunt, the better off we’ll all be.”

(more…)

Blog at WordPress.com.