Not a Tango, nothing to see here

August 20, 2011

The sound of crickets

Filed under: Uncategorized — antitango @ 5:36 pm

I haven’t posted in awhile.  I’ve been treating this blog as a personal life blog, not that there’s anything wrong with that…

I haven’t been posting RKBA things for awhile, but I probably should.  The ‘issue’ is that I see is anything that’s worthy of posting has already been posted.  The most prominent gun blogs I read are Tam, Robb, Linoge, JayG, Joe Huffman, Weer’d, and SayUncle.

Tam posts current stuff I haven’t seen in a lot of places, yet.

Robb posts his ideas, primarily from Florida (weird, it’s almost like he’s got a stake in those laws…), and since Florida’s political climate is similar to Utah’s, it’s at least a bit relevant.

Linoge covers topics better than Rosie O’Donnell on a Twinkie.  He studies them in-depth and researches the  details behind it.  He’s got an exceptional memory and archive of past stories with an uncanny ability to link the stories together.

JayG has the Dead Goblin Count and gives us a view into one of  our most Liberal states, constantly providing a reminder to us what we’re in for if we don’t keep our own politicians in check.

Joe Huffman doesn’t post QUITE as often as the others, but he’s got his quotes of the day that almost always deal with RKBA issues or our rights in general.  I’ve met him personally and can attest to his ability to see the erosion of our rights far before anybody else that I’ve seen.

Weer’d came from the Left.  He was a bleeding heart liberal before he actually started asking himself WHY he believed what he believed.  Once he started doing that, his perception of the world was realised as a house of cards.  On a personal basis, he gives me a view of my own life in the past.  I was even a Liberal when I first got into the Corps.

SayUncle runs a very successful blog that acts as a gun news aggregator.  I see stories there I haven’t seen in other places, but most of the time, the stories I read are 1 or 2 days after I first read them on another site.  That is NOT his fault.  That’s the nature of how he runs his blog.  It’s a fantastic resource for the gun community.  It’s a one-stop-shop for the biggest stories we read.

So where do I fit in?  I like reading the stories and upon occasion, I would like to get my input thrown out into the crowd.  I get people reading my stories sometimes.  I figure that mostly it’s people being nice and giving the little guy some click throughs.  I don’t know where my blog fits.  I guess I should probably amend it.  I’m a gun blogger, but it’s not all I write about.  I have a 2 year old son, I’m a former Marine, I’m an ardent defender of our personal liberties, and I’m good at what I do.  I think I’ve got enough to write about without encroaching on other gun bloggers.  I’m not out to steal someone else’s thunder.  This means that I start posting broader topics than guns and politics, I suppose.

Until next time!

1 Comment »

  1. […] every once in a while, one of you all says something about me worthy of note, which brings us to this statement by Tango: Linoge covers topics better than Rosie O’Donnell on a Twinkie. He studies them in-depth and […]

    Pingback by quote of the day – tango | walls of the city — September 13, 2011 @ 5:52 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.