Not a Tango, nothing to see here

April 24, 2011

This I Believe…

Filed under: Uncategorized — antitango @ 4:23 pm

NPR has a segment that I like that they do every once in awhile.  I don’t know specifics, but I’ve heard it used to be ran a lot more.  “This I Believe” takes people and lets them do a monologue about whatever is on their mind, so long as it’s on topic with something they specifically believe in.  To me, this translates into something that is important for you.  Much like Liberals, I believe that everybody should have the chance to be successful.  UNLIKE Liberals, I believe that it should be done on the part of hard work by the individual in question.

I believe that our world is populated by billions of unique individuals.  We are not a collective.  We are not a gaggle.  We are not a crowd.  We are individuals.  We have our families and our friends, but when it comes right down to it, we have ourselves.  “Look out for number 1” is a common phrase I’ve always heard and it’s one of my favorites.  Once your needs are met, you can make sure that others’ needs are met if you so choose.  This is the basic premise behind the airline air masks that drop if there is lost cabin pressure.  Ensure your OWN mask is on and then decide which of your children is your favorite!  Joke I heard by the flight attendant on a flight I took this past September.  What good are you if you help one person put on a mask and then you yourself pass out?

I believe if I look out for numero uno, then I will be able to help out those closest to me.  As a father and husband, I believe it is my duty to ensure the safety and survival of my family.  If my family is taken care of and I’m taken care of, then I enjoy helping others out.  Why is that so unusual in today’s society?

I believe in personal responsibility.  If I screw up, I’ll get what’s coming to me and understand that I screwed up.  I will not expect the rest of mankind to pick me up and make things whole again.  It would be neat if they DID help out, but that is their decision…  or is it?

I believe that the current status of welfare in my country has things bass ackwards.  By mandating that you MUST pay for the welfare of others under penalty of law, they are forcing every person in our country to look out for everybody ELSE before they look out for their own family.  How did this happen?  How did we get to a state where we are forced to look out for everybody else before looking out for numero uno?  What happened to personal responsibility?  Aren’t Liberals supposed to believe in evolution?  Why is it then that the Conservatives think that you should let a man’s actions dictate his future?  It will be rough for awhile, but humankind will be better for it.  That sounds rough, but it is what it is.  The slowest water buffalo gets eaten by the plains cats.  If evolution is true, then shouldn’t they advocate that every man do his best and if you can’t make it, well you should have chosen better?

I believe in minding my own business.  When I am at home watching TV, I should have not a care in the world.  A man’s home is his castle.  Isn’t that the way things are supposed to be?  He has his comfortable ‘throne’ with which to sit on and ‘think’.

I believe others should mind their own.  If you want to be a couch potato and just barely get by, then so be it. If you want to hit a meth pipe each night and lose your job because of it, well that’s your right, too.  At least it should be.  I believe that if you want to own 42 guns, 7 of them fully automatic, have 19,000 rounds of ammunition, and create a watch tower on your roof for which to watch for Zombies, then have at it!  Just make sure they’re only legit Zombies that get a bullet.

I believe that the Left America has the right to hate guns.  They have the right to hate ANYTHING they want.

I believe that THEY need to mind THEIR own business.  They want to punish those of us that have broken no laws.  I am a US Marine.  Sure, I was honorably discharged years ago, but it holds true: “Once a Marine, always a Marine.”  I served my country faithfully as an Topographic Intelligence Analyst for 7 years.  I qualified as an Expert every time I went to the range minus 1 trip.  I held a Top Secret (and then some) security clearance.  I was trusted with secrets that your average citizen would have NO IDEA about and not know what to do with; information that our enemies would have paid dearly for.  I did it for paycheck that would be considered poverty for most people and I did it with little complaint (not including formation runs up “Seven Steps” on Pendleton. Then I really complained.  A lot.)  Despite that large resume, they want to tell me I should not be able to own any gun that I am qualified to own.  Why?  Because I’m being punished for another person’s actions.

I believe that if you want to restrict my rights, you have to handle it through the courts.  If you want to interact with me outside of the courts, then that’s just fine and dandy.  If you want to attack me outside of the courts, do not expect me to stand there and take it like a meek sheep.  I will not.

I’ve had a little stress  over the weekend due to the actions of the Coalition to Stop Gun Violence (CSGV).  Since I do not agree with their position and point out the fallacies of their arguments, they’ve taken it upon themselves to attack how I raise my child and have blatantly lied about what I’ve said and posted strictly in an effort to discredit me so the state government sees fit to remove my children.  After all, toddlers should not be required to eat foods they do not like.  They should not have to go to bed when their parents tell them.  And people wonder why there are so many children today that do not listen to anything an adult has to say.  Let them do what they want, eat what they want.  That’s the specific reason behind America’s obesity epidemic.

This I believe.  This I have no problem relaying to anybody with a desire to know.  I appreciate the incredible amount of people that have chimed in with support.  You all rock and with luck, there’s something that I will be able to do to help you all out in the future.

Tango

3 Comments »

  1. I wouldn’t worry too much about the busybodies at CSGV. I read your blog entry in question to my mom, who has worked closely with DCFS in her role as a child abuse counselor, and she was very unimpressed with their claim of “child abuse.” Specifically, according to her, you did not elicit any harm to your child, nor, according to you, did you cause any gagging or choking.

    Just relax and let them vent their impotent rage.

    Comment by alcade — April 25, 2011 @ 10:48 am

  2. A lot of good points I can agree with. So whereabouts are you here in Utah?

    Comment by BobG — April 25, 2011 @ 10:54 am

  3. I spent more than a decade in foster homes, so I know well about what’s cause for real concern and what is not. As it’s been said by others, “You can beat the rap, but not the ride.” so I’d rather not take the ride. 🙂 I’m not too worried about CSGV, but somebody needs to put them in their place. I don’t know if CPS is going to knock on my door. I doubt it, but I don’t know. What’s going to happen to the next guy? Every step, these guys push further and further and it’s wrong. Someone’s going to get into trouble based in the lies these guys present.

    Comment by antitango — April 25, 2011 @ 11:08 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.