Not a Tango, nothing to see here

June 12, 2012

“Oh, I trust all ex-military with guns!”

Filed under: 2A, Only Ones, rights — antitango @ 5:37 am

The other day, I was leaving the parking garage going into work and the rent-a-cops for the complex stopped me and chatted it up.  He’s former military and was in the Army.  He picked me out because I have USMC vet plates on the Blazer.  Nice enough fellow who obviously gets very bored on the job since all he does is sits in a Geo Metro driving around between 2 parking garages.

The odd thing about these rent-a-cops is that their employers actually ask that they carry guns.  I believe they’re Glock 17s, but they could be some other model.  I only remember that they’re 9mm.  I say this is odd because the complex used to be a mall and now it’s an entertainment center type of place.  There are a handful of buildings that house things like a pizza joint, 5 Guys Burgers, a few sit-down restaurants, a coffee place, movie theatre, arcade, bowling alley, indoor skydiving, Gold’s Gym, etc etc…  My office just happens to sit in the same complex.

So this morning, he was walking in the same direction I am so tell him that I think it’s odd that they carry since most security companies DO NOT ask their rent-a-cops to carry and in fact prohibit it, especially with them pretty much being mall cops.  He said it’s because of McVeigh that they all do.  Interesting…  I can see how someone carrying a gun would have stopped McVeigh.  I like that they carry, but it’s still trying to use a screwdriver to serve up ice cream.  It’s good to have the screwdriver, but you’re not going to stop any bombers with it.

I said that I think it’s awesome that they carry!  There’s been more than one assault in the parking garages over the years (but it’s much better than it was).  I told him that I carry as well.  “Oh, I trust all ex-military with guns.”  I just said “Why ex-military?  I trust everybody with guns until they can prove otherwise.”

I got a very disapproving look from the guy.  You can go screw yourself, buddy.

3 Comments »

  1. It’s dang sad that the folks who are carrying want to be the ones who decide who should be allowed to carry. It’s the same issue with the anti OC crowd. Open carry, concealed carry, just carry!

    Comment by Six — June 12, 2012 @ 10:42 am

  2. I hear ya… it just grates on me. Utah has preemption. It’s very very STRONG preemption.

    (2) This part is uniformly applicable throughout this state and in all its political subdivisions and municipalities. All authority to regulate firearms shall be reserved to the state except where the Legislature specifically delegates responsibility to local authorities or state entities. Unless specifically authorized by the Legislature by statute, a local authority or state entity may not enact or enforce any ordinance, regulation, or rule pertaining to firearms.

    A few years back, we had some parks putting up no firearms signs. I got ahold of the parks & rec planner and he got me in contact with the city attorney to hash it out. “Well, I’m sure you’ve got the same sense that I do and you don’t want just anybody carrying unless they’ve got some kind of training.” “Ummm… no. It’s not up to me to decide. The law says you can’t.” Another guy that believes he’s of a better judgement to decide who can and can’t carry.

    Comment by antitango — June 12, 2012 @ 11:06 am

  3. Worked for a so called security agency years back and our job was to wear our target, er, uniform around as a deterrent, call 911 and be a good witness. No actual involvement allowed.

    Comment by Mulligan — July 2, 2012 @ 5:53 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers